Will happily follow others into mischief but otherwise very chilled
Archie

I was bought as a very cheeky youngster by Mr and Mrs Bremner who tried to teach me how to be a scurry driving pony, unfortunately my little legs don’t like moving that quickly so they have very kindly loaned me to the Cavalier Centre to help with hippotherapy and riding sessions.

D.O.B: 13/04/2012
Breed: Dartmoor
Markings: None
Likes: Playing with my best friend in the field and getting fussed by all the volunteers

Height: 12.2hh
Colour: Bay
Best Friend: Freddie
Dislikes: Being in the arena by myself


Very friendly and loveable youngster
Billy

I came from one of the fantastic Thursday and Sunday volunteers Emma, I was a little bit too young for her but was amazing at driving so Jane Barker suggested a swap for a more experienced ridden pony called Buzz. That was a great idea as both of us have shone brightly in our new homes.

D.O.B: 01/07/2014
Breed: Gypsy Cob
Markings: none
Likes: Attention of any form!

Height: 14.2hh
Colour: Grey
Best Friend: Everybody!
Dislikes: Being ignored


Big fancy horse in tiny body. Always interested and raring to go
Caspa

I am a pure Caspian horse, which is an ancient breed! Because I am so small and feisty I make the perfect lead rein pony which is what I have spent most of my life doing. I am on loan to the RDA from Lynne Munro (our marvelous physio) as I am the perfect shape to help with the really little hippotherapy participants.

D.O.B: 24/05/1999
Breed: Caspian horse
Markings: None
Likes: Helping all the children in the hippotherapy sessions

Height: 11.1hh
Colour: Grey
Best Friend: Archie
Dislikes: Having to wait in the stables for my turn!


Full of life and keen to do good!
Finn

Originally from Hereford I was bought by Jane Barker in 2017. Since then I have learnt to do all sorts of things and have proven to be a very good driving pony as well as dressage and jumping!

D.O.B: 01/06/2010
Breed: Cob
Markings: A stripe and four socks
Likes: I love to jump but driving the participants around our carriage track is my favourite

Height: 13.2hh
Colour: Black
Best Friend: Sion
Dislikes: I really don’t like being left behind when everybody comes in for their riding sessions


Big handsome gentle giant
Freddie

I was born in Ireland and came to the UK in 2016.  I spent my days frolicking in the countryside with my many other equine friends.  When this life became a bit too much like hard work, my lovely owner Pricilla Kennedy loaned me to The Cavalier Centre which works much more at my pace.

D.O.B: 01/06/2010
Breed: Shire x Irish Cob
Markings: A Blaze and 3 stockings
Likes: Quiet walks in the countryside and meeting new people.

Height: 16.1hh
Colour: Black
Best Friend: Archie
Dislikes: Being taken away from my friends


Loves to flick his toes. Fine and fancy
Heston

I was previously on loan to another RDA Group in Scropton. I now belong to Ashwood livery in Stafford who have kindly lent me to the Cavalier Centre to help teach our littlest riders.

D.O.B: 05/05/2008
Breed: Welsh Sec. B
Markings: None
Likes: I like working with children and being pampered

Height: 12.2hh
Colour: Black
Best Friend: Finn
Dislikes: Being on my own


Kenny

Originally from Pembrokeshire I was bought by Vivien Johnson where I have been a carriage driving competition horse. I am so excited to be here at the Cavalier Centre, learning a new job and showing all the other driving cobs how it’s done.

D.O.B: 01/01/2009
Breed: Cob X
Markings: A Blaze and 4 Socks
Likes: Having a job and getting stuck in.

Height: 14.2hh
Colour: Black
Best Friend: Theo
Dislikes: Being pushed around by bigger horses.


Friendly chap who loves to play
Mac (MacKenzie)

Mac has been a driving and companion pony for a lovely family in Telford but is now enjoying a career change and he has become a firm favourite with our Steps in the Right Direction Programme.

D.O.B: 01/01/2008
Breed: Welsh Sec. A X
Markings: 2 Socks
Likes: Small people and making people smile, loves cuddles and kisses

Height: 12.2hh
Colour: Bay
Best Friend: Archie
Dislikes: Being on a diet


Rocky the Rockstar real life BFG
Rocky

Rocky is new to the Cavalier Centre and is currently in training.

D.O.B: 13/07/2016
Breed: French Boulonnais Draught Horse
Markings: Star, Stripe & Snip
Likes: Attention !

Height: 15.3hh and still growing
Colour: Liver Chestnut with flaxen mane and tail
Best Friend: Kenny
Dislikes: Sharing.


The dream! More like him please. A real gentleman
Sion

I was bought and taught how to ride and drive by Will Merrick Stoneyford Riding School. I helped in their riding school until 2018 when I was bought by Jane Barker for the Perry RDA as a ride and drive pony. I have even been to the Regional and National championships.

D.O.B: 23/08/2008
Breed: Cob
Markings: A wide stripe and four socks
Likes: I love to hack and gallop across open fields but teaching our participants to ride and drive comes in at a very close second

Height: 13.2hh
Colour: Black
Best Friend: Finn
Dislikes: I really don’t like the mud and would much rather be stood in a warm stable being cuddled


Multi talented and chatty, will whinny to say hello
Star

I lived in North Wales until I was 6 years old. Perry RDA bought myself and my brother Comet, I was very cheeky when they taught me how to be ridden but I soon realised I enjoyed teaching people how to ride. Because I was so good, I went to Stoneyford riding school, but I came back when the Cavalier Centre opened to help all the new and existing participants.

D.O.B: 14/05/2006
Breed: Welsh Cob
Markings: A star and two socks
Likes: Hacking, jumping and being grumpy

Height: 14.2hh
Colour: Dark Bay
Best Friend: Billy
Dislikes: Being left behind when everybody else is helping in the sessions.


Very clever, escape artist and cheeky but worth his weight in gold
Stubbs

I was born in the Peak District and was taught all sorts of tricks, from agility to Parelli, driving trials to showjumping! I was bought by Jane Barker for Perry RDA in 2007 and have loved every moment of it so far, taking numerous participants to the Regional and National Championships every year!

D.O.B: 16/03/1998
Breed: Haflinger
Markings: A stripe and a mealy nose
Likes: I like letting everybody know I am the boss and showing everybody how good I am at everything

Height: 13.1hh
Colour: Chestnut with a flaxen mane and tail
Best Friend: I am the boss, I don’t need any friends!
Dislikes: I really don’t like being hungry or having to wait in the stables while other horses are being ridden


All round awesome with the biggest feathers in the business
Theo

I was bought as a 2-year-old and lived in Mold until I moved to Telford at the beginning of 2019, where, I enjoyed a small amount of schooling but mainly hacking around the countryside teaching my new mum how to ride. In November 2019 SAPUTO very kindly bought me for the Cavalier Centre to help out with the older participants.

D.O.B: 01/05/2005
Breed: Gypsy Cob
Markings: a blaze
Likes: Being brushed and training for RDA competitions

Height: 15hh
Colour: Piebald
Best Friend: Kenny
Dislikes: I can get a little bit of stage fright but I am learning to be more confident


Loves fuss and knows his own mind
William

I was given to The Cavalier Centre by Jennifer Goulden. I spent a short time with Jane Barker passing my assessment with flying colours before heading over to join the herd at the centre. I am working really hard in my schooling so that I can be the perfect RDA pony.

D.O.B: 01/05/2014
Breed: Cob
Markings: none
Likes: Lots of food and pampering

Height: 14hh
Colour: Piebald
Best Friend: Finn
Dislikes: Made to get out of bed early


Sign Up To Our Newsletter
Join the Cavalier Centre grapevine and be the first to hear about news and events